Checkmate! #20

napo2017button1Day 20. Today’s prompt is to write a poem that incorporates the vocabulary and imagery of a specific sport or game.

checkmated-2147756_1920I play by strategy, one step at a time,
I move carefully, avoiding inescapable threats,
All I care is Me, I am the King, I Castle,
In the battlefield called life, I move prudently
With each problem I face,the neurons in my brain fire up
Like the little guard Pawns, I step and slide glitches away,
And every Pawn I move is possibly a Queen.
When life throws its curveballs, I update my game,
I bring my Knights to the rescue, and with every good move
I think of a better one, Like Bishops, I reason
I reason my game, I calculate the Rooks
When I cover the 8 x 8 squares of my life, Time is running out
My Pawns sacrifice themselves, I fry those neurons away,
I play till my King survives, I am here to win,
So I set the board, I place my pieces, I learn the rules
The match is me, No moves is ever right,
No heart is ever kind, for life is a game of Chess,
Win or Lose, It changes with every move
Until CHECKMATE!

-Roshni Rajshekhar Nair

Leave a Reply

