Your Tyranny- Ghazal #13

napo2017button1Day 13 of NaPoWriMo and Today’s Prompt is to write is an oldie-but-a-goody: the ghazal. abstract-2100_1280

This heart of mine was never insolence, My love, against your tyranny,
I am your refugee, I seek nothing but love in your tyranny.
I have been through a lot, my world is wrecked, I breathe your cruel love,
I lust your compassion, your affection, I am a sinner, in your tyranny.
Your eyes, deep like the ocean, I’m scared to dive in, for all I know,
You can be, my love, A flesh eating monster indwell in your tyranny.
But I sympathize you, I know you are imprisoned, Caged in rage,
Give me a timely warning, I shall build you a world, contrasting your tyranny.
For my love can heel, I am no aristocrat, but my love can reign,
Beyond these pillars, against the blood, a château, away from your tyranny.
Where the land is gold, and the earth is heaven, where I am in no debt,
Much with devotion, let me free you, I am the only रोशनी(Roshni) in your tyranny.

-Roshni Rajshekhar Nair

रोशनी (Roshni) translates to light, in some (as well as in this) context can also mean hope
château is french for castle

sunrise-1670979_1920

Leave a Reply

