Found them! – NaPoWriMo 7

napo2017button1Day 7 and today’s prompt is to write a poem about luck and fortuitousness. As an example of a finished “fortuitous” poem, check Elizabeth’s own “State of Grace”.

A     n      x      i      o       u        s
Under the pillow, over the kitchen sink,
It’s as big as a mammoth, with an own childhood,
Stripped me down with mystery, Where could it be?

 

Close to me.
So eclectic, come-on don’t be an introvert!
We just had breakfast together!Ahh!
You have a real power over me.

 

Back in the day, I could whiff you out,
It’s like that time I found a letter, One Mr. Smith,
Had an address, lucky him. Or the time,
I found a wallet by the road, all flash no cash,
I could just imagine, ‘Was the owner poor?’
“Did a burglar take the cash and throw the wallet away?” I thought.

 

I went through all the cupboard shelves,
One by one, now everything looks a hot mess on floor,
‘This looks like life on Mars, messed up with humans’,
‘Maybe the guy got a new wallet, threw the old one away!’ Mind diverted.

 

What did you do to my house? Mom was not happy.
‘Not deliberately. This is pointless!’ I striked.
‘The tea room!’ I ran down the stairs,
‘PUT THE TOILET SEAT DOWN’ Mom was definitely not happy.
Found you. Up they go struggling over my legs. Thought I’d lost you.    
‘Mom, I need new jeans from TOPSHOP!’

tumblr_nopz7bjfpg1qhub34o1_500anigif_enhanced-buzz-27082-1357658374-6

-Roshni Rajshekhar Nair

Leave a Reply

