Thames, mine Always.

napo2017button1Day 5 and the prompt for Day Five- write a poem that is based in the natural world: it could be about a particular plant, animal, or a particular landscape. But it should be about a slice of the natural world that you have personally experienced and optimally, one that you have experienced often.

IMG_20150228_120543-MOTION
We sat together, once again, under that sky,
You stopped for a minute and glanced us by,
Sang that melody, flowed through the South England,
Dear Thames, don’t tell my tale to those on the mainland.
            I’ll race you to the London Eye, meet me above,
            I’m willing to tell you, if you promise to be in love.
But now, this heart’s symphony, you gave movement to,
Hold him back for me, he has left me blue,
I’ll see you by the Wharf, against the tides,
Tell him, look in his eyes, remember I cried.
And now March passed, I stood by, Spring followed,
Alone by Thames, the world seemed new, pain swallowed.
You offered me company, My friend Thames,
Sharing the stories of the skylines, while playing Flames,
Thy vision, Thames, sweet river, there by my side,
The ferries, the tunnels, the walking trails, you glide.
            You shiny, silver, flowing history,
            I am now deep in your glory.
The sun smiles, you bear a part of me, My love,
The earth green, our friendship red, As of,
 It’s now clear, You are my Always,
Drip drip drop, you caught me, Thames, mine Always.

-Roshni Rajshekhar Nair

IMG_20161103_124607
Photographed by Me

 

Leave a Reply

WordPress.com.

Up ↑

