Enigma of That great Cesspool

napo2017button1Day 4. Prompt– One of the most popular British works of classical music is Edward Elgar’s Enigma Variations. The “enigma” of the title is widely believed to be a hidden melody that is not actually played, but which is tucked somehow into the composition through counterpoint. Today I’d like you to take some inspiration from Elgar and write a poem with a secret – in other words, a poem with a word or idea or line that it isn’t expressing directly.

I travelled back in time, Flew
A 4649 miles precisely, Perhaps.
That great cesspool”, said Arthur Conan Doyle, himself.
Oh! How am I drawn to your madness?
Poppies and Medals, Literature, and
Poetry, The Globe, Fantasy and Mystery.
Asthma Bronchitis! How do I keep up?
That cold breeze from where I stand,
Is this the Liquid History I breathe?
A dark beauty, Clear and Still.
Every smile, Every eye, I seek,
Are the sweet honey to my lemon tea.
Sweethearts on the go,
With their morning espresso.
Fix up your mind”, When it rains,
I drain and squeal. And then the sun-
with those beams, “Silly weather!”
“What the hell is wrong with you?”
But beyond the destined bridges,
The borough and of all, Buildings –
With Square in their names, I see
Red is your colour, Green from Space,
And you, Oh beautiful, Every night’s delight,
Imperial Purple and A Hazy Lilac
Thy greatness, thou make me want to live
Live like royalty.

-Roshni Rajshekhar Nair

 

Leave a Reply

